Opening Progam - Welcome to Philly! (at SEJ 2024)

Wed April 03, 7:30 pm

This event is part of the annual meeting of the Society of Environmental Journalists - please see website for registration and full agenda.

Opening Program: Welcome to Philly!

7:30 – 9:30 p.m.
Location: Zellerbach Theatre, Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts

We’ve invited the Mayor and Governor to kick things off! We’ll get an eye-opening lightning-round preview of UPenn’s environmental-related research and efforts. And, you’ll want to stick around till the end when our co-chairs showcase their city, its foods and sports craziness, and you’ll hear from the Philly Youth Poet Laureate and take a virtual artistic tour through the city’s amazing street murals and environmental justice history. Embedded inside the fun, we’ll hear from our UPenn hosts and disinformation warriors — Kathleen Hall Jamieson and Michael Mann — who together have quite a story to tell about disinformation overwhelming our world and what we might be able to do about it, and they’re ready to help lead an army of environmental journalists into battle!

Meg McGuire, Founder, Delaware Currents and #SEJ2024 Conference Co-Chair
Kristine Villanueva, Independent Journalist and Editor and #SEJ2024 Conference Co-Chair

Land Acknowledgement: Jeremy Johnson, Cultural Education Director, Delaware Tribe of Indians

Speakers (in order of appearance):
Dawn Bonnell, Senior Vice Provost for Research, University of Pennsylvania
Mayor Cherelle Parker, City of Philadelphia (invited)
Governor Josh Shapiro, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (invited)
Rick Weiss, Director, SciLine
Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor of Communication, Annenberg School for Communication and Director, Annenberg Public Policy Center, University of Pennsylvania
Michael Mann, Presidential Distinguished Professor, Department of Earth and Environmental Science and Director, Penn Center for Science, Sustainability, and the Media, University of Pennsylvania
Katie Barott, Assistant Professor of Biology, Penn Arts & Sciences, University of Pennsylvania
William Braham, Professor of Architecture, Weitzman School of Design, Center for Environmental Building + Design, and Kleinman Center for Energy Policy, University of Pennsylvania
Joseph Francisco, President’s Distinguished Professor, Departments of Chemistry and Earth & Environmental Science, Penn Arts & Sciences
Dipti Pitta, Mark Whittier and Lila Griswold Allam Associate Professor of Ruminant Nutrition, University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine
Jennifer Pinto-Martin, Viola MacInnes/Independence Professor of Nursing, Biobehavioral Health Sciences, Penn Nursing, and Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Simon Richter, Professor of German, Penn Arts & Sciences, and Penn Program in Environmental Humanities, University of Pennsylvania
Eurhi Jones, Artist, Mural Arts Philadelphia: “Beautify. Inspire. Empower.”
Oyewumi Oyeniyi, Author and Youth Poet Laureate of Philadelphia